The Monastery of Vatopedi was built in the second half of the 10th century by three monks, Athanasios, Nikolaos and Antonios from Adrianople, who were students of Agios Athanasios of Lavra.
Several buildings have been built since then, but the most important are those built during the Byzantine period and the 18th – 19th centuries, when the monastery reached its highest point. It is a large monastery surrounded by a high wall, with its buildings located in the Triangle.
Inside the spacious courtyard is the Katholikon, the cross-shaped altar and various chapels. Inside the central church are unique mosaics, belongings of Mount Athos, while its frescoes, painted around 1312, are attributed to the painter Manuel Panselinos from Thessaloniki.
About 50 monks are currently living in the monastery, where an extensive building project is underway to restore the larger buildings.
In addition to the frescoes, the monastery has in its possession numerous unique portable icons, manuscripts and religious objects.
It is accessible to all scientists in the world, but they must first contact the monastery and the 10th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities.