The museum opened in July 1998 in a building in the archaeological site of ancient Olynthos, 5 km. from Moudania, Halkidiki.
The archaeological finds are in the Archaeological Museum of Polygyros. The Olynthos Museum has only audio-visual material, the purpose of which is to give visitors a comprehensive overview of the archaeological site of Olynthos, starting with the history of the city and continuing with a description of the excavation and restoration.
Visitors learn that the city was built with Ippodomenea Plan (two wide avenues ten (square) houses, and a drainage system every five houses). A typical house of Olynthos took paste shape (a square, two-story building with rooms facing a covered patio) and was built with stones and clay, with the superstructure is of unfired bricks reinforced with a wooden frame. In most homes, the floor is of compacted earth, but four of them have mosaic floors of gravel and lime. Visitors can also learn about the course of the excavations, the work of Robinson in 1928 until the excavations of 1990 and 1992.
In most homes, the floor is of compacted earth, but four of them have mosaic floors of gravel and lime. Photographs and short texts describe the local organization (meal preparation, food storage, knitting) and the city’s economic life (stonework, koroplastics, agricultural activities, recreation, symposia).